Outreach Events for Bears, Deer, and Other Animals

Take your passion for the animals to the street. Street fairs, that is!

These events are fun ways to interact with the public and help spread seeds of compassion. Education is the key to changing people’s attitudes toward animals.

Just because you’ve never staffed an information table for us before, doesn’t mean you can’t do it! You’ll be with an experienced volunteer.

You needn’t be there all day. 3 or 4 hours of your time is great. So shoot us an email and let us know how you can help!

Throughout 2018 we have been seen at over 50 festivals, reaching tens of thousands of people. We’re looking to top that in 2019!

Running count of outreach events APLNJ has done so far in 2019 – 8

Tenafly Earth Day

Date: Saturday, 4/27/19 | Time: 11am – 4pm

Monmouth County SPCA Dog Walk and Pet Fair

Date: Saturday, 4/27/19 | Time: 10am – 3pm | Setup: 8:30am

Address: Brookdale Community College, 765 Newman Springs Rd, Lincroft

The Onyx & Breezy Walk to Remember

Date: Saturday, 4/27/19 | Time: 11am – 4pm (rain or shine) | Setup: 9am

Address: Horseshoe Lake, 72 Eyland Ave, Succasunna, Roxbury

Party for the Plant

Date: Sunday, 4/28/19 | Time: 10am – 4pm

Address: Van Saun County Park, Paramus

ACUA Earth Day

Date: Sunday, 4/28/19 | Time: 10am – 4pm

Vernon Earthfest 2019

Date: Sunday, 4/28/19 | Time: 11am – 4pm | Setup: 8 – 10am

Address: Heaven Hill Farm, 451 Route 94, Vernon

Ocean Grove Spring Fling Arts & Crafts Festival

Date: Saturday, 5/4/19 | Time: 10am – 4pm | Setup: 8am

Address: 45 Pilgrim Pathway, Ocean Grove

Cherry Hill Earth Festival at Historic Croft Farm

Date: Saturday, 5/4/19 | Time: 10am – 2pm | Setup: 9am

Address: 100 Burtons Mill Rd, Cherry Hill

Walnut Street Fair in Montclair 

Date: Saturday, 5/4/19 | Time: 10am – 3pm | Set-up: 7am – 8:30am

Address: Forest Street Walnut Train Station, Montclair

No Bergen HS Environmental Club Bear Presentation & Outreach

Date: Thursday, 5/9/19 | Time: 3:30 – 4:30pm

Glen Ridge 2019 Eco Fair

Date: Saturday, 5/11/19 | Time: 10am – 3:30pm | Setup: 8am

Address: 200 Ridgewood Ave and Bloomfield Ave, Glen Ridge

Closter Spring Fair

Date: Saturday, 5/18/19 | Time: 11am – 4pm | Setup: 9 – 10:30am

Address: Tenakill Middle School, 275 High St, Closter

Hackettstown Maifest 2019

Date: Saturday, 5/18/19 | Time: 12 – 6pm | Setup: 8:30 – 10:30am

Address: 109 Grand Ave, Hackettstown

Bergen County Earthfest Overpeck

Date: Sunday, 5/19/19 | Time: 1pm – 5pm | Setup: 10 – 11am

Address: 199 Challenger Rd, Ridgefield Park

Founder’s Day/Waretown

Date: Saturday, 5/25/19 | Time: 9am – 3pm

The Carnival/Jefferson Township

Date: Thursday, 5/30/19 | Time: 4 – 10pm | Setup: 4pm

Address: Jefferson Twp Middle School, 1000 Weldon Rd, Oak Ridge

Pequannock Street Fair

Date: Sunday, 6/2/19 | Time: 11am – 5pm

Hoboken Green Fair

Date: Saturday, 6/8/19 | Time: 11am – 3pm | Setup: 9am

Address: Church Square Park, 401 Willow Ave, Hoboken

Fishawack Festival

Date: Saturday, 6/8/19 | Time: 10am – 4pm | Setup: 8 – 10am

Address: Downtown Chatham, Borough Hall, 10 Fairmont Avenue

Burlington County Earth Fair  

Date: Sunday, 6/9/19 | Time: 10am – 4pm | Setup: 8:30 – 10am

Address: Historic Smithville Park, Smithville Rd, Eastampton

Fairy Fair in Riverdale 

Date: Sunday, 6/9/19 | Time: 11am – 5pm | Setup: 9 – 10:30am

Address: Glenburn Pavillion, 211 Paterson Hamburg Tpk, Riverdale

Johnson Zoo Outreach

Date: Saturday, 6/22/19 | Time: 11:30am – 5pm

Glen Rock Street Fair

Date: Sunday, 6/30/19 | Time: 11am – 5pm | Setup: 9:30am

Address: Downtown Glen Rock

Merrill Zoo Outreach

Date: Saturday, 7/20/19 | Time: 11:30am – 5pm

Ramapo Valley County Reservation

Date: Saturday, 7/27/19 | Time: 12pm – 4/5pm

Address: 608 Ramapo Valley Road (Route 202), Mahwah

Thompson Zoo Outreach

Date: Saturday, 8/3/19 | Time: 11:30am – 5pm

Historic Victorian Blairstown Day

Date: Saturday, 8/11/19 | Time: 11am – 5pm | Setup: 8 – 10:30am

Address: Main Street, Historic District, Blairstown

Cranford Street Fair

Date: Sunday, 8/25/19 | Time: 11am – 5pm

Rutherford Street Fair

Date: Monday, 9/2/19 | Time: 10am – 5pm | Setup: 7am

Address: Park Avenue, Rutherford

Pirates Day

Date: Saturday, 9/7/19 | Time: 9am – 4pm

Plainfield Environmental Fair

Date: Saturday, 9/7/19 | Time: 10am – 3pm | Setup: 9:30 – 10am

Address: Library Park, 800 Park Avenue, Plainfield

Bound Brook Street Fair

Date: Sunday, 9/14/19 | Time: 11am – 5pm

Van Houten Avenue Street Fair

Date: Sunday, 9/15/19 | Time: 11am – 5pm | Setup: 8am

Address: 800 Van Houten Avenue, Clifton

Ridgefield Park Street Fair

Date: Saturday, 9/21/19 | Time: 10am – 5pm | Setup: 7 – 8am

Address: Downtown Ridgefield Park

Franklin Day Festival

Date: Saturday, 9/28/19 | Time: 12 – 5pm | Setup: 8 – 11am

Address: Colonial Park, Lot C, Somerset

Hightstown Fair

Date: Saturday, 10/12/19 | Time: 10am – 4pm (rain or shine) | Setup: 8am

Address: Downtown Hightstown

The Country Living Fair 

Date: Sunday, 10/20/19 | Time: 10am – 4pm | Setup: 7am

Address: 31 Baststo Rd, Hammonton

Paramus Park Mall

Date: Saturday, 10/26/19 | Time: 12:30 – 5:30pm